My Next Read

As I don’t have a necessity for a car anymore I find I have a lot more time to read, be it on the subway, PATH train or shuttle bus getting around to my customers. I’ve just finished ‘Touching the Void’ (which I have been meaning to read for far too long) and although quite a chilling account of an individual’s strength for survival it was a fantastic story.

After finishing it I started reading up on various mountains, I then stumbled across a video on TED (a brilliant site I’m subscribed to) which had a first-hand account of the worst climbing disaster on Mt. Everest that left nine climbers dead in 1996 due to a freak storm. So my next read is ‘Left for Dead’, an account of the disaster by one of the climbers who survived against all odds. I would compare it to my initial ‘survival’ in the Big Apple but struggling to set up a Social Security Number is no comparison to what these adventurers went through. Check out the video:

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/ken_kamler_medical_miracle_on_everest.html

Tagged , ,

One thought on “My Next Read

Leave a comment